1. The Turbo Forums - The discussion board for both hard core and beginner turbocharged vehicle enthusiasts. Covering everything from stock turbocharger cars, seriously fast drag racers, boats, motorcycles, and daily driver modified turbo cars and trucks.
    To start posting in our forums, and comment on articles and blogs please

IF YOU ARE AN EXISTING MEMBER: You can retrieve your a password for your account here: click here.

1988 Mazda 626GT Build.

Discussion in 'The Turbo "Builds" Board' started by MazdaCarnage, Oct 17, 2022.

1. MazdaCarnage

I have been driving and working on these cars since 1998.

In 2012 one of my friends (started as a shop customer) sold me his 1988 626GT after he lent it to his brother who put in 87octaine and the engine blew. I paid 450$ for the car, it came with 2.5" exhaust and a stage 3clutch and lightened flywheel.

When the 1992 MX6GT I was driving (same car but 2door) got too rusty I threw together a block and put it in the 626GT, I used junk and parts I had lying around the garage and the bumpers, fenders, hood and headlights off a matching color 626lx automatic parts car I had.
    This was a zero budget build and I treated it as such.

This was the engine bay after pulling the motor and I am ashamed to say I left it like this:
    WP_000416.jpg #ad

I changed the bumper, hood, fenders and headlights after dropping in the engine.

Here is a picture of the car completed, it was raining and the car almost looked shiny:
    WP_001765.jpg #ad

Just like the engine bay the rest of the car had rust, the car looked just shitty enough that the cops left it alone but was starting to rust enough that it was going draw their attention.
    I was going to start welding it up when someone told me there was a base model from out west with no rust for sale nearby so I bought that car for a replacement body.